Back Again.

February 1, 2012 § 3 Comments

So I haven’t posted since May. Which, in terms of time, doesn’t seem like that much. But, as I know well, things can change, life can change in a very short amount of time. Mine has.

In May, I was in Gardiner, MT. I was working for a whitewater rafting company and I was having the summer that I’d dreamed of since hearing my family tell stories of their summers in Yellowstone. And it was even better than the images and expectations in my head. I met new people, did new things, learned about myself, relaxed, and fully lived. I hiked, and rafted, and rode horses. I cooked, and photographed, and cleaned. Mostly, I loved. I loved the place, the river, the mountains, the sky, the flowers. I loved the people I worked and lived with. And I fell in love again.

A month after my last post, I began dating someone. And in the next two months, we both fell more in love than we thought we could. We left Montana together, to take him to med school in Indiana, and then I would continue back to Texas to finish law school. As we drove through the vast expanse that is most of South Dakota, we decided we wanted to be married. About four months, 3 trips to visit each other, and innumerable hours on Skype, he dropped down on one knee and proposed.

I finished Practice Court. The Baylor Law program that earned Baylor the nickname as “the bootcamp of American law schools.” I read, and read, and read, and put on trials, and got yelled at and humiliated for the sake of my education. I ate little and slept less. But I made it. And after a 3 and a half year long law school career, my life has changed in more ways than I could count. If law school was supposed to be teaching and shaping me over those years, it worked in its way. But, what I’ve learned and who I’ve really become is almost entirely attributable to Life over those few years.

This time last year, I would’ve told you that I’d be looking for a job in Texas when I finished law school. I would have said that I worked hard to make connections who could help me. I would have said that even in the declining legal market, I knew I could go home and find a job. But, at that time, home was with my parents in Texas. Home is now with my fiancé in Indiana. So, this Texan girl is becoming a mid-westerner. I have no intention of leaving behind cowboy boots, real Mexican food, and “y’all,” but I’ll be a Hoosier nonetheless.

So yes. When we look at life as just the months, weeks, and days that have passed by, then my last post was not that long ago. But I look at life as more than that. I measure the tears shed, the laughter shared, and the hugs exchanged. Measuring that way, it has been an eternity since my last post.

I’ve missed sharing experiences here. There were a lot to share. Expect some catching up.

Paul and me.

§ 3 Responses to Back Again.

  • Stacie says:

    Awh Kelsi you’re making me tear up at work!!!

  • Stephanie J. says:

    Kelsi, I found your blog through Mary’s blog and I just wanted to say congratulations. I am so happy for you. 🙂 I wish you the very best and I look forward to reading more about your last several months. Take care. 🙂 ~Stephanie

  • marymargaret says:

    YAY, you’re back 🙂 my heart is full of happiness for you and paul. trust me, leaving texas wasn’t in my game plan either, but as a former coworker told me…”If you have Christ and the man you love, what more do you need?”

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Back Again. at Joyful Heart.

meta

