Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

May 12, 2011 § 5 Comments

Why, pray tell, is pumpkin only an fall food?? I mean, the canned stuff on the shelf year-round. And it tastes good year-round. And by good, I mean amazing. I love pumpkin. Nom nom nom nom nom. Get the picture?

I’ve love starting the morning with a smoothie. They don’t take long, they’re filling, nutritious, and easily adaptable.

Pre-blending. Not so pretty.

Since I’ll be gone all summer, I’ve been trying to use of a bunch of excess stuff I had in my pantry. So most recipes I’ll be posting will be part of a “cleaning out my pantry” series. I had a can of pumpkin in the pantry so I figured I should use it. Why not?? Just because its spring? Pshhh….bring on the pumpkin.

Recipe from: Oh She Glows

1 Tblsp Ground Flaxseed
1/2 Cup Pumpkin Puree
1 Cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
1 heaping tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice
1 tsp Molasses
1/2 Scoop Vanilla Protein Powder
4-5 Cubes of Ice

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

  • oh i love love love love this!! why haven’t i thought of it before??? I use pumpkin purree in baking a ton. it’s such a great substitute for butter/oil. But I never thought of a smoothie. Can’t wait to try it!

  • For some reason, I was at the store yesterday and thought “i’m gonna buy some pumpkin”. I don’ tknow why I thought that, or what drove me to do it… but then I get this mysterious email that you were following me on twitter. Sos I hop on over to your blog ad the first thing I see is a picture of what appears to be my pantry.

    The gods have smiled upon me this day!

    • kelsib13 says:

      And I just saw your post that you’d put pumpkin granola in your parfait. That sounds FANTASTIC.

      Let me know what you do with can of pumpkin you bought!

  • whoa. that smoothie looks freakin amazing! 🙂

  • katy says:

    i SO need to try this!!!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pumpkin Pie Smoothie at Joyful Heart.

meta

