The Cave

May 10, 2011 § Leave a comment

“I know my call despite my faults
And despite my growing fears” -Mumford and Sons “The Cave”

Ok, I’m clearly way off schedule lately. I get that way when I’m not in school. So, here’s some music for Monday (plus a day).

Its weird that I haven’t posted any Mumford & Sons yet. I’m obsessed with them. OBSESSED. Hey, Marcus, call me! (He’s the lead singer…FYI). I almost peed my pants when I saw them on the Grammy’s. TMI? Get over it. I was excited.

And about 4 books on my summer reading list came from Marcus’ book club on the Mumford & Sons web site. When I was thumbing through some Shakespeare sonnets one day (totally normal, right?? Thought so.) I realized that one of their songs is based on a Shakespeare sonnet. Tally that up for another point for the Sons. They’re freaking amazing.

I love that their songs are subliminally religious. “Awake my soul, for you were made to meet your maker”?? ok…maybe not subliminally. But they aren’t in your face in such a way that you would only play them on Christian radio. I mean, they do cuss quite extensively. But it makes the things they say more meaningful; like they come from the heart and not just what they’re “supposed” to be singing about. Passion.

Lyrics:
It’s empty in the valley of your heart
The sun, it rises slowly as you walk
Away from all the fears
And all the faults you’ve left behind

The harvest left no food for you to eat
You cannibal, you meat-eater, you see
But I have seen the same
I know the shame in your defeat

But I will hold on hope
And I won’t let you choke
On the noose around your neck

And I’ll find strength in pain
And I will change my ways
I’ll know my name as it’s called again

Cause I have other things to fill my time
You take what is yours and I’ll take mine
Now let me at the truth
Which will refresh my broken mind

So tie me to a post and block my ears
I can see widows and orphans through my tears
I know my call despite my faults
And despite my growing fears

But I will hold on hope
And I won’t let you choke
On the noose around your neck

And I’ll find strength in pain
And I will change my ways
I’ll know my name as it’s called again

So come out of your cave walking on your hands
And see the world hanging upside down
You can understand dependence
When you know the maker’s hand

So make your siren’s call
And sing all you want
I will not hear what you have to say

Cause I need freedom now
And I need to know how
To live my life as it’s meant to be

And I will hold on hope
And I won’t let you choke
On the noose around your neck

And I’ll find strength in pain
And I will change my ways
I’ll know my name as it’s called again

I find this song incredibly moving. About facing your fears and doing what you were called to do, even when people are trying to convince you that it isn’t right. Its also about helping each other do what best.

I, of course, love the words about finding strength in pain and changing. Also, the line about holding on to hope.

When this song comes on my iPod (or I play it on repeat, either one works), I belt it out like an anthem. Every line speaks to me and I find myself caught in a determination to live life fully, to challenge who I’ve been, and keep hoping in spite of every obstacle in my path.

What do you think of it?

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Cave at Joyful Heart.

meta

