Smoky Mountains

April 26, 2011 § 2 Comments

Finals are upon me in all of their miserable glory. So here’s a short Travel Tuesday post. The Smoky Mountains in Tennessee.


When my family sees a river, we feel an uncontrollable urge to get in it and throw rocks. Totes normal.

My family stopped here for a couple of days on our way to Washington, D.C. in the summer of 2008. As per family tradition, it was one heck of a roadtrip.

When we pulled out of the driveway, my dad actually said “Roadtrip 2008 baby! Yeah!”

That’s how random and goofy my family is. I come by it honestly.

The Smokey Mountains have, as their name implies, a smokey look to them. Its eerie and beautiful at the same time. There is something intriguing about the blue-gray shadows over the mountains that I just couldn’t get enough of.

The rivers through the park were an excellent setting for a snack break and some rock skipping. This was my first trip to the Appalachian Mountains and, while I don’t love them nearly as much as I love the Rockies, I would like to go back and hike part of the Appalachian Trial.

Add that one to the Bucket List.

Ok, that’s two mountain, National Park destinations in a row on Travel Tuesdays. I promise I’ll become more Urban soon. Maybe…

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Smoky Mountains

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Smoky Mountains at Joyful Heart.

meta

