Next Race

April 21, 2011 § Leave a comment

For me, training for some goal, like a race, is always so much more inspiring than just working out. Don’t get me wrong, I love the stress relief and endorphin boost of a regular workout, but I’m more dedicated when I have some ultimate goal in mind.

My duathalon. Texas. In July. HOT and muggy! 2003

In college, I did a duatholon (run, bike run) and last November I did my first half marathon. But, I have been inconsistent with working out ever since I stopped having a race on the horizon to get ready for.

Enter Tough Mudder.

My friend, Megan, and I after the San Antonio Rock and Roll Half Marathon. November 2010

I saw some info about this race this year, but the one in Austin fell in the middle of finals (damn you, quarter system and law school), so I couldn’t do it. But, my friend had asked me if I might want to do this with him next October. We’ll be in the throws of Practice Court (kindly referred to as “Law School Boot Camp”), but we wanted to have something keep up motivated to work out and train. And something to look forward to besides just the end of Practice Court!

So we decided to sign up in hopes that we can start to train over the summer and then maintain during Practice Court. Hopefully, we’ll be able to encourage each other to keep it up. And maybe even get a team together.

This race is 11 miles with obstacles along the way. So I’ll have to train by running and by doing this nifty little workout. Hopefully this will make sure I’m getting more resistance and weight training in than I normally do.

I also love the good “think” time that running provides and it will be oh, so needed during Practice Court. I’ll keep you update on the workouts. Keep me accountable, please!

It looks super fun! Anyone ever done one of these? What did you think?

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Next Race at Joyful Heart.

meta

