Challenge Accepted

April 13, 2011 § 2 Comments

“You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face… do the thing you think you cannot do.” 
-Eleanor Roosevelt

I had to eat my words today. Not too tasty. In doing so I found my next fear to conquer.

The other day, I told you about how I’ve been working on overcoming my fear of water. Well, over last Sunday’s family dinner, I had been telling the boys about how I don’t like being scared of things and letting my fears beat me. Today, after class I saw one of the boys, Scott, and told him I was looking to buy a road bike for the summer. I decided that riding a bike the 9 or so miles into town for work this some from where I’m living and back would be great exercise and would help me really embrace my summer outdoors.

Trek 1.1 WSD. A decent entry level road bike.

I also once did a duathlon (biking and running), and I trained for a triathlon with a friends, but didn’t end up competing. But I’ve always wanted to. So, I’ve been wanting a road bike for awhile so I could ride with friends (excellent social exercise) and maybe even ride in the MS150 one day.

But, when I told Scott about it today, he asked me if I was getting a mountain bike. My response? “Nah…I’m kinda scared of mountain biking.” He immediately responded, “what about not being scared?” Crap. The Sunday Dinner Boys listen when I talk?! I knew I loved them.

He was right. Cody liked to mountain bike and I tried with him once, but I sucked at it and I was quite perturbed that after taking spin classes at least twice a week and Cody never working out, he still kicked my butt. So, maybe the real truth is that I’m not scared of mountain biking. I’m just pissy that I’m not good at it. And because I wasn’t any good, I had to walk. A lot. Maybe I never gave the mountain biking a real chance.

So, challenge accepted. When the opportunity to mountain bike presents itself, I’ll take it. I don’t have to enjoy it, but I should give it a legitimate chance.

But, I’m still not buying another bike. One is enough for at least a year!

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Challenge Accepted

  • I’ve been looking into buying a bike too! I never realized how expensive they are… so I’m trying to just find any cheap non-moutain starter bike that will at least get me moving more when I don’t feel like running!

    • kelsib13 says:

      Good luck finding one! I found some cheaper ones on online sources, but I wanted one that would let me do a triathlon when I wanted to, so I’m getting part of the bike as a birthday gift. I’m sure you can find one at a good price to get you going at Academy or even used at a bike shop! Then if you want to work up your mileage, you can upgrade from there!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Challenge Accepted at Joyful Heart.

meta

