Summer Reading

June 8, 2010 § 2 Comments

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again (probably a thousand times): I love to read.

It transports you to a different place, a different life, a different journey. It allows your imagination to run wild, only controlled by the slight details the author leaves you. Movies paint the whole picture for you; books leave your imagination filling in the blanks. And nothing compares to a beautifully written sentence. Writing well is an art form that fewer and fewer people appreciate.

On that note, not everything I read is well-written, educational, or even that good. But, I get caught up in the story either way. This summer, all I want to do is read books (ok, I also want to spend time with family and friends, cook, shop, tan, run, travel, but whatever…you know what I mean). And spending my time reading law articles and court cases (which make my mind want to just relax with something pointless), makes me grab some easy read as soon as I get a chance. So, my summer reading started off a little smutty.  But, I still love it!

So, I thought I’d give a run-down of my summer reading thus far. Some deserve their own posts about how amazing they are, which might come soon, but for now, we’ll stick to a list.

  • Russian Concubine- Kate Furnivall. Pretty good, and an element of historical fiction to it, which I love.
  • The Elegance of the Headgehog- Muriel Barbery. Simply amazing. Deep, eloquent, a beautiful story. This one will have its own post eventually.
  • Dead Until Dark-Charlaine Harris. Kinda a smut-like novel, but an easy read when you need one. Someone had given me the first season of TrueBlood, the HBO series to watch, and one of my best friends sent me this book in the finals care-package she sent me. I’m always happy when I get to read the books before I see the movie/t.v. show.
  • Living Dead in Dallas-Charlain Harris. The second book in this series.
  • Eat, Pray, Love-Elizabeth Gilbert. Another book that needs its own post. I loved this one. While I disagree with some of the things she says, I appreciate her point of view and I would absolutely love to spend 4 months in Italy (eating and learning Italian), 4 months in India (praying, meditating and practicing yoga), and 4 months in Indonesia (learning from a medicine man and finding balance). The experiences and things she learns are priceless and she’s a great writer. Plus, the movie comes out later this year, starring Julia Roberts. Count me in!
  • Les Miserables- Victor Hugo. Ok, this is a huge book to tackle this summer. I can’t really carry it with me because its too big, but, so far I’m loving it. Its well written, has amazing quotes, symbolism, historical parallels, plus its a classic and I’m always game for reading anything considered a “classic.” Plus, then I can see the musical!
  • Beowulf- Author unknown. Another one of those classics I want to tackle. I’m not too far into this one and its a pretty difficult read, but its short and I can handle it. Its also an epic poem, rather than a novel, which makes it a little more complex.
  • Master Your Metabolism- Jillian Michaels. I love her. So, I read her book. Mostly, it just says to eat organic, cut as many toxins out of your life as possible from plastics, products you use, things like that. And avoid carbs in your evening meal because your body doesn’t need them. Also, gives tips for trying to balance out your hormones so that they work for your advantage to have your metabolism working its best.
  • The Constant Princess- Philippa Gregory. This is a great author, and I love historical fictions. I feel like I’m learning something as I read them. It also allows me to put a story with history, so when I go back and learn more about the subject, I feel more connected to the people. Almost like I know them. Its great. This is the author of The Other Boleyn Girl, which I loved. (not the movie though!) I just started this one, but so far, I like it!

Wow…I’m feeling like I’ve accomplished quite a bit this summer! So much more to go, but I’m enoying every second of my time spent buried in a book.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Summer Reading

  • marymargaret says:

    get it, girl. ive already read 4 1/2 books this summer, and def. want to try some on your list. i LOVE it. finally – time for pleasure-reading!

  • Haley says:

    Oh man, would I looove the time for pleasure-reading!!!! Can’t wait to have some one day!! Lol!! It will cycle back to me though, so I’m not worried. Lol

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Summer Reading at Joyful Heart.

meta

