A Home is Built with Love and Dreams

March 16, 2010 § Leave a comment

I love going home. When I walk in, I’m overwhelmed with the smell. Its a smell I can’t describe, but it is simply “home.” I immediately feel relaxed, happy, comforted. Its so easy to just revert back to my childhood there; I get to hug my parents, hang out with my brother and sister, and sleep in the room I grew up in. And no matter how much it changes, it still has those key elements: my family and the same comforting smell. The longer I stay there, the more attached I become. Coming back to school is so much harder if I’ve stayed for a week or more. I find the drive back longer, the upcoming week seeming more stressful, and my lonliness slightly elevated. I’ve had to leave the place where I feel the most comfort, the place where the people know me best, the place where my best friends all live under one roof, and come back to the place that I feel most alone. That juxtapostion makes Mondays back terrible. I find it difficult to leave home the closer departure comes; I just want to stay and visit and hug. For me, being home is like being wrapped up in a hug by the biggest arms God could give me. Even when no one is home, I can still feel the warmth and comfort of those arms wrapped around me.

This past weekend was one of those weekends where most of my family was gone. There was a softball tournament that my dad had to coach and I just didn’t feel like spending my last weekend home for awhile, away from home, so I stayed. But, I wanted to show my dad how much I love him and enjoyed my time home with him (seriously, the man is really my hero!), and I just don’t feel like I tell him as much as he tells me. I mean, the man sends me emails just to tell me that he loves me and is blessed by me! I’m so blessed to have a dad like him and its part of the reason I just love home. He makes me feel loved and safe and isn’t scared to put me in my place. He makes me a better person that way and I’m thankful for it…even if I get angry at the time! When he was growing up, this lady who lived down the street from my dad baked him a sour cream apple pie and he loved them! So, in an effort to show my dad some of the love that I feel for him (let’s be honest, I express my love through cooking for people. That little quirk I get from my mother! It makes me a little worried that I’m going to make myfuture husband fat…let’s hope he likes healthy food), I found a sour cream apple pie recipe online and made it for him. Turned out that he had a terrible day coaching and when he came home that day, he told me that he had really needed it that day. Perfect!!!

The apple pie turned out pretty well, if I do say so myself! So, I decided to share the recipe. Tips: make sure you slice the apples thin so that they get tender, and I doubled the topping because one dose of it didn’t seem like quite enough. So double up on the topping ingredients if you want to make extra, too.  Also, I used a store bought crust (c’mon, I’m not Martha Stewart!).  It was the refrgerated Pillsbury one and it was great!It was such a beautiful day to look out the window and watch the dogs play while I peeled and sliced apples and I even went for a little jog while the pie was in the oven. Yes, I did consider letting it cool on the window sill…ok, now I am sounding a little Martha Stewart-esque. Oops.  Like you, I was a little worried about sour cream in my pie, but don’t worry. It turned out great! Let me know if you get to try it and what you think.

Sour Cream Apple Pie

Ingredients

  • 1 recipe of a pie crust (you can try making your own)
  • 3 Tbls. unsalted butter, softened (For topping)
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 Tbls. sugar (For topping)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon (For topping)
  • 2 Tbls. all-purpose flour (For topping)
  • 1  1/3 cups sour cream (filling)
  • 2/3 cup sugar (filling)
  • 1/4 tsp salt (filling)
  • 2 tsps vanilla extract (filling)
  • 2 large eggs (filling)
  • 3 Tbls. all-purpose flour (filling)
  • 5 large granny smith apples (about 2  1/4 lbs.) (filling)

Prep

  1. Roll out the dough 1/8 inch thick on a lightly floured surface, fit it into at 10 inch  pie plate, and flute the edge decoratively. Chill the shell while making the topping and filling.
  2. Preheat oven to 350

Make the Topping:

  1. In a small bowl, blend together the butter ( I melted mine a little, which made blending easier), the sugar, the cinnamon, and the flour until the mixture is combined well and chill the topping, covered, while making the filling.

Make the Filling:

  1. In a large bowl whisk together the sour cream, the sugar, the salt, the vanilla, the eggs, and the flour until the mixture is smooth, add the apples, peeled, cored, and sliced thin, and stir the filling until it is combined well.
  2. Spoon the filling into the chilled shell, smoothing the top, and crumble the topping evenly over it. Bake the pie in the middle of a preheated 350 degree oven for 1  1/4 hours, or until it is golden and the apples are tender, transfer it to a rack, and let it cool completely.
Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Home is Built with Love and Dreams at Joyful Heart.

meta

