Crowd-pleasing Soup

March 1, 2010 § Leave a comment

As promised, I will give you this ridiculously easy recipe for a bean soup. My mom gave me this recipe when I told her I was having people over for dinner and swore by it. So, being the good girl that I am, I trusted my mother and made the soup. The woman really is a great cook and knows how to entertain! Apparently, some woman she sees at the gym (always the likely place for acquaintances with my mother), says her kids and husband like it so much that she makes it once a week. Everyone here loved it and I think it fed about 6 girls and one guy. Anyone can make this so have fun and share!

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs lean ground beef
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 can black beans, undrained
  • 1 can kidney beans, undrained
  • 1 can pinto beans, undrained
  • 1 14.5 ounce can diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 can corn
  • 1 can Rotel
  • 1 1 ounce packet of ranch dressing mix
  • 1 packet of taco seasoning
  • 2 cups water (I added a little extra for desired consistancy)

In a large pot, brown the meat, onion and garlic (if using a fatty meat, drain. But, I used extra lean ground beef so there was nothing to drain and it cut some of those calories!). Then, stir in everything else. Let simmer for a few minutes (the longer it sits, the more the flavors blend, so you could even put the whole thing together in the morning and then reheat at night. Its even better reheated!). Serve topped with avocado, shredded cheese, or sour cream.

Alright, (Bawabadackdackdack) well that’s all, folks! (yeah, I used to watch cartoons…yeah, I still hear the voices in my head. Is there anything wrong with that?) 

Note from the homily in mass this evening: “Christ is my Light and my Salvation.” Let that be the prism through which you view the world. Through it, you can handle any affliction.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Crowd-pleasing Soup at Joyful Heart.

meta

