Living in Wacky-ville

February 25, 2010 § 2 Comments

To be honest, yesterday was a down day for me. I’ve been back in school for about three weeks now and since I’m retaking the classes that I dropped out of, I’m a little bored. As noted in my previous post, I think that boredom can be a great thing. Lately, it has enabled me to really focus on learning to be alone, cope in new ways, and deal with being away from the people who I feel closest to. I never really connected with this town and it was probably a little of my own fault; there was no reason to try that hard to bond with people because my very best friend in the whole world was going to be moving here soon. Then, as I was gone for 4 months, people made stronger connections with eachother, so that can make it a little more difficult to bond. So, this is the hand I’ve been dealt and being the determined, headstrong, optimisitc goofball that I am, I’ve decided to suck it up and make the most of it. Find the joy in the situation, pray about it, and just keep swimming!

After a long morning convo with my mother and a few prayers (oh, and a phone call to another law school to see if transferring is a possibility…its not…so, ok, moving on), I got out of class and ran into my friend, who invited me to watch the Baylor v. A&M basketball game with him. Amazing! His brother died in November, so he and I had a long chat about life outside of law school. It was a great evening….even though the Ags lost. It was so nice to do a non-law school related activity in this town and have a non-law school conversation! By the end of the day, things were looking up.

I’ve also realized, that I was really looking forward to having someone to cook for, share my days with and get away from the law school (high school) gossip and drama. Right after Cody died, I was worried I’d never be loved again, no one would want to be with me, yadda yadda yadda (I know, cry me a river). But, what I’ve realized is that I miss the beautiful mutual exchange of a love relationship. I love to take care of someone, cook for them, send them cards, support them, and learn about them: likes, dislikes, fears, hopes, and quirks (You really like chick flicks?? Interesting. You’re scared of spiders?? Sissy. I mean, oops,  I’ll kill them!) So, I’ve decided that since I’ve always been the girl with a boyfriend, I’ve probably never been the best friend and I want to make an effort to change that. First step? I bought some cute friend cards to send just to let people know how much I love them and appreciate them (yes, my brother, sister, and parents were my Valentines. Got a problem with it?). And the friend I went to the basketball game with and I decided we’d take turns having dinner nights and cooking for eachother. He’s a bit of a health nut, so this could work out quite well for me! Another friend and I are going to start running more often, get high on endorphins, and then have long runs on the weekends so we can be ready for the Rock and Roll half marathon in San Antonio (there is absolutely I’m running 12 miles in the Texas heat and humidity but hopefully I’ll be able to run a few miles and keep up with some amount of traning). And I guess now that I said I want to run it, and you guys are maybe reading this, I’m stuck with it. Keep me accountable!

So in an effort to find little joys in the day-to-day grudge that is life here where too many people drank the Kool-Aid, I’m gonna have dinner night and cook for people, start running, work on my fashionista status, and continue my new-found obsession with the fabulousness that is Glee. If you’ve never seen it, rent it. NOW! Then buy the album on iTunes. Let me know what you think.

Now, on to continue the apartment hunt. I’ll keep you updated and I’ll let you know how dinner night number 1 goes. On the menu: Hearty Bean Soup (made by me) and tamales that my roommate brought back from her boyfriend’s dad! In the words of Rachel Ray: Yum-O!

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Living in Wacky-ville

  • Miranda says:

    Hmmm..this seems eerily familiar. Just kidding…loving it so far. I am mainly commenting so I can click the box that will notify me for each new post. Love you tons….

  • Ana says:

    I love a good dinner night! Even better when they are healthy! Love love!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Living in Wacky-ville at Joyful Heart.

meta

